Consumer Health Information Pathfinder

Consumer Health Information Pathfinder

The purpose of the Consumer Health Pathfinder is to provide resources to allow you to find medical and health information. We have included both print reference materials available for use at the library and a number of websites that provide information
on specific diseases, medications, preventive health, and alternative medicine. There are many other sources for health information available online, however, not all are reliable. In order to assist you, the Medical Library Association provides a step-by-step
guideline for making sure the health information you find on the internet is reliable at the Medical Library Association’s Find Good Health Information page.

Find out more about specific resources below by type.

General Health Databases

MedlinePlus

This National Institutes of Health site “brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand.”

National Library of Medicine Directories

Start your search for a doctor, dentist, facility or service here.

The Health Care Division

A gateway to information on Massachusetts health care advocacy, enforcement, and consumer protection.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Covers “Diseases & Conditions,” “Healthy Living,” “Traveler’s Health” and more.

Alternative Health

National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health

An “A to Z” list of topics

Mother Earth News Natural Health Page

Information and advice on a healthy diet and natural medicine

Diseases and Conditions

Mayo Clinic Diseases and Conditions Page

Comprehensive guides on hundreds of conditions.

National Association of Rare Diseases

A brief description of, and more importantly, links to organizations addressing rare diseases and conditions.

Drugs and Diet Supplements

Drug Information Portal

Quick access to quality drug information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. Search by medical or common name or by category.

DailyMed

Information on over 46,000 marketed drugs including FDA labels and package inserts.

Dietary Supplements Labels Database

Information on label ingredients for more than 7,000 selected brands of dietary supplements, including a tool for comparing labels of different brands.

Mental Health

Al-Anon

Al-Anon offers help and support for alcoholics and their families.

National Eating Disorders Association

The NEDA Helpline is available Monday-Thursday from 9AM to 9PM ET, and Friday from 9AM to 5PM ET. Contact the Helpline for support, resources and treatment options for yourself or a loved one. This website also offers information about many different types of eating disorders.

National Institute of Mental Health

Learn about mental disorders. NIMH offers expert-reviewed information on mental disorders, a range of related topics, and the latest mental health research.

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline

We can all help prevent suicide. The Lifeline provides 24/7, free and confidential support for people in distress, prevention and crisis resources for you or your loved ones, and best practices for professionals.

Environmental Health

Healthy Homes

This site from the Centers for Disease Control will help you prevent injury and disease and help you prepare for disasters and emergencies.

Household Products Database

Health and safety information on household products including Auto, Arts & Crafts, Personal Care (including make-up), and Pet Care.

Academic Resources

ClinicalTrials.gov

An excellent place to find out information on what clinical trials are, what to expect if you participate in one, and to find the results of clinical trials across the nation.

Health Reference Center Academic

This award-winning, multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information. You may need to use your library card to sign in.

PubMed

For academic information, use this U.S. National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health citation database of professional articles.

The library also has a number of databasesprimarily intended for medical professionals. You may find these resources by using this link: Medicine and Health Databases

Reference Books

The library has physical reference books that contain health information.

Books marked “REF” may not be checked out or removed from the library, but a reference librarian can help you locate and use these books in the Reading Room.

Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment

Although it’s rather technical, this book provides useful information on medical tests. REF 616.075 CUR, E-book (available through catalog) 2016

Physician’s Desk Reference Prescription Drugs

This classic will tell you more than you need to know about any drug that you’ve been prescribed. REF 615.1 Phy 2017

Physician’s Desk Reference Nonprescription Drugs

Over-the-counter drugs get the PDR treatment. REF 615.105 PDR 2014

These books are located in our stacks and can be checked out for use outside of the library. Click on the title to be redirected to the library catalog where you can reserve these items.

Magill’s Medical Guide

Covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and issues in an A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders. In five volumes.

Complete Home Medical Guide

This reference on family medicine and health from the American College of Physicians encompasses the latest advances in medical science and technology as it discusses more than seven hundred diseases and disorders, their symptoms, and treatment options

Magazines

The following magazines are available in the library:

  • Health
  • Men’s Health
  • Prevention
  • Psychology Today
  • Web MD
  • Weight Watchers
  • Yoga Journal