Employment and Career Guidance

This subject guide is intended to help those searching for information on jobs and careers. Use it to find library resources including online research databases and online catalog materials, as well as links to other job and career websites. Also included is contact information for local career centers.

This content was compiled by the Marlborough Public Library Reference Department. If you have any questions or would like more infomation on this subject, please contact our Reference Desk at 508-624-6992, or you may send an email to marlboroughreference@gmail.com. You can also contact a librarian at Ask a Reference Question.

Print Resources

Employment and Career Guidance Books

The following are a few examples of career help books that are available at the Marlborough Public Library.


There Is Life After College

There Is Life After College: What Parents And Students Should Know About Navigating School To Prepare for the Jobs of Tomorrow

Jeffrey J. Selingo

650.14 Sel

The antidote to parents’ anxiety about their kids being prepared for the job market upon leaving college — a hopeful and inspiring guide on what to do right, from Jeffrey J. Selingo, bestselling author of College Unbound


Before and After Resumes

Before and After Resumes: How to Turn a Good Resume Into a Great One

Tracy Burns-Martin

650.142 Bur

Includes: over 500 careers, key words and phrases, sample designs, online resumes


The Damn Good Resume Guide

The Damn Good Resume Guide: A Crash Course in Resume Writing

Yana Parker and Beth Brown

650.142 Par

One of the best-selling resume books of all time and a trusted resource for job-seekers for nearly three decades, this edition of The Damn Good Resume Guide has been completely revised and updated for today’s marketplace.


The Job Search Navigator

The Job Search Navigator: An Expert’s Guide to Getting Hired, Surviving Layoffs, and Building Your Career

Matt Durfee

650.14 Dur

A guide to successful job searching, with expert advice from executives, recruiters, and the author, based on his extensive personal experience


Starting Over

Starting Over: 25 Rules When You’ve Bottomed Out

Mary Lee Gannon

650.14 Gan

Outlines how we can regenerate ourselves through transitions by offering proven tips, insightful strategies and new methods for reclaiming your life.

Browsing our Catalog

For more titles on Employment and Career Guidance, select the following terms/phrases to search the library’s online catalog by subject:

Online Library Resources

Ebooks

The Marlborough Public Library has access to a wide variety of ebooks related to employment. To access these items, select the term/phrase to search the library’s online catalog by subject. When you have found an ebook that you would like to borrow, click “C/W MARS patrons click here to download this title (login required)”. You can then sign in to Overdrive using your library card number and pin.

For more information on how to borrow e-books from Overdrive, please visit our E-Books and Audiobooks page.

Databases

These research databases provide a wealth of information about creating resumes and cover letters, career planning, higher education, and industry-specific resources.

Career Transitions

Gale’s Career Transitions provides support with creating resumes, writing cover letters, and applying for positions as well as interactive interview practice. In addition, it assists with career exploration; identifying new opportunities based on work or military experience; exploring growing career paths, including green and new economy jobs; and finding education and training.

College Resources

Thinking about going to college? Check out the Gale Virtual Reference Library for exam books, career planning, and scholarship information, available for download 24/7.

Exam Books & Test Prep

Accessible using Gale Virtual Reference Library are test preparation and career-specific exam books, available for download 24/7.

Vocation and Careers Collection

Providing content from nearly 400 journals, this collection provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.

Links to Recommended Websites

Finding Job Postings

LinkedIn

LinkedIn is an interconnected network of experienced professionals from around the world, representing 150 industries and 200 countries. Users can find, be introduced to, and collaborate with qualified professionals that they need to work with to accomplish their goals.

Monster.com

A job bank where you can post your resume for free. Search for U.S. job and company profiles.

Occupational Outlook Handbook

“Revised every two years, the Occupational Outlook Handbook describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations.”

USA Jobs

Official job site of the United States Federal Government.

Salary Information

Bureau of Labor Statistics

The US Department of Labor gathers wage data for local, regional, and national data.

Glassdoor.com

See what other people in your field are paid, or find out what you can expect in compensation at a company that’s already offered you a position.

Salary.com

Find out what your worth is based on education, calculate what your benefits are worth, or compare salaries and cost of living by major metropolitan area.

Local Career and Job Centers

Worcester Workforce Central

Workforce Central provides employment services for both job seekers and employers. The City of Worcester Division of Workforce Development operates the Career Center in partnership wiht the Massachusetts Department of Career Services.

Worcester
44 Front Street, #600
Worcester, MA
(508) 799-1600
Mon-Thur 8:45 AM – 4:30 PM
Fri 9:30 AM – 4:30 PM

Southbridge
5 Optical Drive, Suite 200
Southbridge, MA
(508) 765-6430
Mon-Thur 8:45 AM – 4:30 PM
Fri 9:30 AM – 4:30 PM

Massachusetts One Stop Career Center

They provide innovative solutios to complex social challenges such as closing the opportunity divide, reducing unemployment and readicating poverty. They can assist you in developing an employment plan, advice on career planning, job search technique workshops, and exploring training options. They also provide such tools as computers with internet access, phones, fax machines, copiers, newspapers, and business journals.

Framingham
1671 Worcester Road
Framingham, MA
Phone: (508) 861-7993
Fax: (508) 309-6598
Mon-Thur 8:45 AM-4:30 PM
Fri 9:45 AM-4:30 PM

Norwood
32 Day Street
Norwood, MA
Phone: (781) 269-5494
Fax: (871) 349-8766
Mon-Thur 8:45 AM-4:30 PM
Fri 9:45 AM-4:30 PM

SMOC

South Middlesex Opportunity Council, Inc.

The South Middlesex Opportunity Council, SMOC, is a community-based non-profit organization that provides a broad spectrum of Behavioral Health Care, Community Development (economic, workforce development, housing) services in local communities across the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

Framingham
7 Bishop Sreet
Framingham, MA
(508) 872-4853

Marlborough Resource Center
57 Mechanic Street #1
Marlborough, MA
(508) 460-9699

Operation A.B.L.E.

Providing training and employment services for job seekers 45 and older since 1982, Operation A.B.L.E. has assisted more than 35,000 job seekers in finding work. In addition to their headquarters in downtown Boston, they have sattelite offices throughout Massachusetts and new offices in New Hampshire.

174 Portland Street, 5th Floor
Boston, Massachusetts
(617) 542-4180
ETinsley@operationable.net

Free Certificates and Education

FreeCodeCamp

You’ll learn to code HTML, CSS, and Javascript by completing coding challenges and building projects. You’ll also earn verified certificates along the way. We also encourage you to join a study group in your city so you can code in-person with other people. Every aspect of FreeCodeCamp is 100% free.

OSHA Ceritfication

360training.com is an OSHA–authorized provider of outreach training. Their growing occupational health and safety training library is designed according to OSHA’s most current standards. Because 360training.com’s OSHA training courses are self–paced and mobile compatible, you can learn wherever or whenever there’s an internet connection.

Federal Emergency Management Institute

The National Preparedness online Course Catalog provides searchable, integrated information on courses provided or managed by FEMA’s Center for Domestic Preparedness (CDP), Emergency Management Institute (EMI), and National Training and Education Division (NTED).

Words Per Minute Typing Test

Many jobs require work with computers. Listing your words per minute on your resume can be a great way to show off your computer skills to potential employers. This website also has touch typing courses and games to help hone your abilities.