Find a Good Book
Provides in depth information on over 150,000 fiction titles including full text reviews, publication information and subject headings. This database also provides suggestions for similar titles and authors as well as guides for book discussions and more.
Enter a book you like and the site will analyse our huge database of real readers’ favorite books to provide book recommendations and suggestions for what to read next.
Whichbook enables millions of combinations of factors and then suggests books which most closely match your needs.
BookPage is a monthly book review publication distributed to more than 450,000 avid readers through subscribing bookstores and public libraries. It serves as a broad-based selection guide to the best new books published every month. The tone is upbeat and literate, focusing on bestsellers as well as new discoveries. All of the content from the print edition is posted on BookPage.com each month.
Get the list of latest bestsellers or read reviews and articles of popular titles.
Read or listen to reviews and author interviews
Book Suggestions by Category
The largest, most frequently visited, web site dedicated to books and film by or about people of African descent. Founded in 1997, AALBC.com is a widely recognized source of author profiles, book and film reviews, book recommendations, event information, active discussions, writer resources, interviews, articles, videos, and more.
‘Based on the Book’ is a compilation of over 1,450 books, novels, short stories, and plays that have been made into motion pictures. Utilizing the Internet Movie Database as the authority, all movies in this collection have been released as feature-length films in the United States, in English, since 1980.
“Celebrating excellence in LGBT literature since 1989.”
The National Book Awards honor the best in U.S. literature. Here you can find past and recent winners.
A resource for lovers of mystery, crime, thriller, spy, and suspense books. We list over 4300 authors, with chronological lists of their books (over 49,000 titles), both series (5000+) and non-series.
Online Book Communities
Keep track of what you’ve read, read and write reviews, and get recommendations for new books based on the ratings you give.
Create a library quality catalog of the books you have read and own, and connect with other readers based on what you’ve read.
Free Books Online
See previews of millions of books, or read entire books online. Once you’ve found a book you like, this resource also gives the option to find that book in nearby libraries!
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Read these books in your browser online for free.
In addition to truly astounding historical collections, the Library of Congress has fiction available to read online.
Through the library’s membership in the C/W MARS Network we have hundreds of free e-books and digital audiobooks from Overdrive for you to enjoy on your computer or handheld device. Check out our eBooks and Audiobooks page to get started.
Project Gutenberg offers over 56,000 free eBooks: Choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online. You will find the world’s great literature here, especially older works for which copyright has expired.
Administered by the Center for the Book, part of the Library of Congress, Read.Gov has digitized books for adults, teens and kids.