Genealogy Research

The library has a local history/genealogy collection covering Marlborough history, genealogies of some prominent local families, and the Marlborough Enterprise on microfilm from 1889 to the present.

Please contact our reference department at 508-624-6992 or by e-mail at marlboroughreference@cwmars.org to make an appointment to access our archives or to gain assistance in your search.

Find out more about specific resources below by type. Archival MaterialsBooks & Print ResourcesOnline Resources

Archival Materials

Below is a list of just some of the items of interest that we have in our archives collection. Please contact the reference department if you would like to view any of these materials or to see what else we might have in our collection.

History of the Town of Marlborough, Middlesex County, Massachusetts, From Its First Settlement in 1657 to 1861 by Charles Hudson ARC 974.44 HUD
  • Charles Hudson was a Marlborough native, a writer, and a United States Representative from Massachusetts.
Historical Reminiscences of the Early Times in Marlborough, Massachusetts by Ella Bigelow ARC 974.44 BIG
  • Provides information about the people and places of early Marlborough.
  • The original book did not have an index, but one was compiled by Marlborough Historical Society member Gene Schneider an is available in the archive collection.
Cemetery Transcriptions prepared by Ginny and Katie Chung in 2001 ARC 974.44 CEM (3 volumes)
  • Vol. 1, Marlborough: Brigham, Old Common, Robin Hill, Rock Lawn, Spring Hill, Weeks and Wilson
  • Vol. 2, Sudbury, Wayland: 1st Cemetery, Revolutionary, Mt. Pleasant, Old Town, North Sudbury Old, North Sudbury New, Wayland South, Natick, Wadsworth
  • Vol. 3, Hudson: Hudson Main Cemetary
Marlborough, Massachusetts, Burial Ground Inscriptions: Old Common, Spring Hill, and Brigham Cemeteries by Franklin P. Rice ARC 974.44 RIC
  • Published 1908
Vital Records to 1850 ARC 310
  • Provides birth, death and marriage data for area town including Marlborough, Framingham, Northborough, Shrewsbury, Southborough, Sudbuty, and Westborough.
Genealogies of individual families ARC 9929 ALL to 929 WOO
  • Provides information about a number of local families.
Marlborough City Directories ARC 974.44 MAR
  • Provides a list of inhabitants and businesses. Cover 1867 to 1961 with some missing volumes.
Voter Lists – Marlborough Ward Lists ARC 974.44 MAR
  • Organized by Ward address.
Marlborough List of Residents ARC 974.44 MAR
  • Organized alphabetically by last name.
High School Yearbooks 
  • Marlborough High School ARC 974.44 MAR
  • Assabet Regional Vocational High School ARC 974.44 ASS
The Marlborough Enterprise
  • This local paper is an excellent source of regional news and obituaries.
  • On microfilm: December 1889 to the present
  • Online: August 2005 to the present

Top of the Page

Books & Print Resources

Below you will find just a few of the other print resources the library has in its regular circulating collection.

Family Chronicle magazine – Current year, plus two previous years in the Periodicals Room

The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Genealogy by Christine Rose and Kay Germain Ingalls 929.1072 Ros

How to Do Everything: Genealogy by George G. Morgan 929.1072 Mor

The Everything Guide to Online Genealogy: Use the Web to Trace Your Roots, Share Your History, and Create a Family Treeby Kimberly Powell 929.1028 Pow

New England Court Records: A Research Guide for Genealogists and Historians by Diane Rapaport 929.374 Rap

A Genealogists Guide to Discovering Your Immigrant & Ethnic Ancestors: How to Find and Record Your Unique Heritage by Sharon DeBartolo Carmack 929.1072 Car

Top of the Page

 Free Online Resources

Below are just some of the free online services that can help you get started with your family history.

  • Offers free access to billions of records including birth, marriage, death, probate, and more.
  • This site also provides guidance for genealogical searching. Click on “Learn” at the top of the home page to access the Research Wiki
  • A categorized list of online genealogical resources. A great place to start!
  • Offers a variety of tools, resources and software to support your historical research.
  • The National Archives provides access to a variety of information online. The local headquarters in Waltham is a great place to visit for more information and classes.
  • A free account here provides access to some very useful databases. For a fee, you can join the Society, and have access to hundreds of additional resources.

Top of the Page